Margot Chapman-In Memorium

 

It’s one year today Margot Chapmanthat my best friend, Margot Chapman, committed suicide.  It’s still hard to believe that she’s gone.

Margot was one of the kindest, most giving human beings I’ve ever known.  I met her through work, and as a marketer, was impressed with her uncanny ability to take trends from one world and see how they applied to another product category.  

Margot was a serial entrepreneur.  She started “Warm Fuzzies” the first scheerling slipper company, “The Chapman Sisters Calorie Counter” the first portion controlled great tasting fast food place for working women in downtown Chicago, “Swirlz” one of the first cupcake stores, and she was my first friend or associate to recognize the potential of social media.  When everyone was saying “I don’t get it,”  Margot dived in.

What got to her was a series of illnesses, including misdiagnosed gluten intolerance, that drained her financially and emotionally.  Then the economy hit the skids and she could no longer find much work as a new product consultant.  She just couldn’t take it any more.  To this day it still bothers me that I missed the signs and didn’t rush back to Chicago to check on her.

Margot, I miss you every day.

 

 

About Karen Pelletier

Karen Pelletier is an independent Marketing Consultant. She has over 30 years of experience in consumer packaged goods, new product development, technology marketing, and Internet Marketing. She can be reached at kjpelletier@marketing-consultant-k-pelletier.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Margot Chapman-In Memorium

  1. Karen, thanks for the great tribute to Margot. I would also add that she was a selfless person. I was often at a loss to describe our relationship. I would sum it up simply as “She’s my mother, my sister and mentor”. When I was a lowly Marketing Assistant at Quaker (aka “Slug”) she took me under her wing. Through her I learned to be comfortable with ideas that others might not immediately grasp but would eventually come to accept. She was a woman that made big things happen. But she never forgot the little things like a birthday or my fascination with pigs (I still have a pink beaded pig that she found at a store and said “I immediately thought of you”.) The good news in her death is that I know her spirit lives on. In me. I realized long ago that I could never repay her for all that she gave me. But I could live a life accepting of my uniqueness and “pay it forward” by encouraging others to be all they were put on this earth to be.

  2. Karen, Thank you for posting this. I know it must have been hard to write. I am an entrepreneur myself, and I only recently found a snip-it of her marketing wisdom. It led me on a quest to find out more from her, and this is the only time my search actually stopped prematurely. I just want you to know she is still helping others. I will forever remember her #11 tip on how to get into a magazine: “Cupcakes Make People Happy”

  3. http://www.miagenesis.com Good luck from your blogs, and i enjoyed reading that one.

  4. Like the comment! and i like the site, quite useful info here
    http://www.google.com

  5. eJaxNedpyhnh says:

    I will make sure to add your new site to my list so people can still find you. Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

